Skip to content

City Life

September 18, 2007

I’ve lived in my new apartment for almost a month now and it’s quite amazing how moving just five minutes away (by car) can make all the difference. From quiet, surrounded by trees and brick townhomes, may as well be geriatric ward condominium complex to busy, off one of the main roads in D.C., down the street from numerous bars and pubs old apartment building, not a day or night goes by without at least one of the following:

-firetruck sirens blaring (the fire station is also down the road)

-the sound of drills waking me up at 7 in the morning, like, right next to my ear (cheers D.C., why are you always under construction?!)

-car horns blaring

-car tires screeching

– cars moving, in general

-the sight of parents pushing strollers

-drunk people shouting (“Don’t you FUCKING talk to me like that! Don’t you — ha, ha, HA! HAHAHAHAHA!”)

-drunk people breaking bottles

It’s interesting!

In other related news, this city is way too small for it’s own good. I think I need a break from it. It’s cool that so-and-so knows so-and-so and we interned together and, oh, my god, that intern’s boyfriend dated a girl from my high school, but that’s a bit much. And, no, that is not a real scenario. But in the past week or two, it seems that way with every new person I meet.

Anyway, I’m thinking somewhere with mountains. I just want to sit on a mountain, preferably on a mountain back home.

One Comment leave one →
  1. annierebekah permalink
    September 24, 2007 4:48 am

    without any prior knowledge I moved onto a major Party Street. drunk people ALL THE TIME. semi-delightful, esp. for prime hollarin’ at frat boyz.

Leave a Reply

