Skip to content

Viva el taco!

May 4, 2008

I want to inform you all of a new law in L.A. that prohibits taco trucks from staying in one place for a long time. The consequences of breaking this law are serious – hefty fines and possibly a year in jail. I know. Let’s not talk about it. There’s a whole campaign now to put a stop this law.

All I have to say is L.A. isn’t L.A. without its taco trucks. My mom used to work in downtown L.A., off Rampart, one of the really taco truck concentrated areas. As a kid, I remember the drive to my mom’s office every day after my dad picked me up from school. After exiting the freeway and entering the more busy and residential areas leading up to my mom’s office, I would see taco trucks parked in grocery store parking lots, at the sides of restaurants, in little alleyways, basically any place you could fit the familiar truck with its blue windows and quilted silver plating. The crowds outside the trucks were insane but all I care to recall is the smell of carne asada every time my window was open. The whole moment was Pavlonian; I kid you not, my mouth would start to water and my  stomach would immediately growl – GROWL – after the taco scent wafted into my nose. Crazy, right? What can I say, I’m crazy over tacos. 

After I read about the taco truck law, I Googled “taco trucks” and came upon this amazing blog called The Great Taco Hunt. Holy shit, guys, I nearly shat my pants. Just look at the photos!

Oh, so heavenly. 

This one is not from a taco truck but it’s a taco from a restaurant called El Taurino, one of the restaurants, in addition to taco trucks, I used to pass by on the way to pick up Mom from work! I got so excited when I found it on the blog I just had to post it!

Feeling so nostalgic now! Sniff, sniff. 

I got so riled up with this taco nonsense that I went on Yelp to see if I could find a decent taqueria in D.C. I’m not sure if I’ll ever find one as I’m obviously biased but the people on Yelp are usually good. Supposedly there’s a place off 14th street so I guess I’ll have to trek there sometime soon. BUT I also found a post from a year ago that mentioned “Those Taco Truck Thingies”…in D.C.!!!!!!!

You guys, this could be it! Will my taco prayers be answered? Will I finally find that amazing taco I have been craving since I arrived a little over four years ago? I’ll keep you updated. 

In other food news, if you are in D.C., head on over to Ooohs and Ahhhs off U Street, on the way to the 9:30 Club. The food is yummy if not a tad bit pricey, but the portions are huge and the staff is way helpful and nice. Also, inside the restaurant they played a bootleg version of Ironman with Japanese subtitles. Awesome.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

