Skip to content

Plan B

September 27, 2008

The deeper and deeper I get into this grad school process the more and more the reality sinks in of possibly not being accepted into any program. I don’t think I’m being pessimistic. Some of these admissions requirements for the social sciences are off the charts for me, especially since I majored in journalism. I can count on half a thumb how many times I’ve written a scholarly paper that was 15-20 pages long. Of course, what do I expect, applying for an academic field. But shit, I can’t turn in my story on HR 4437?

Ah, if I’d a known then what I know now…

Anyway, today I had some kind of cheap ass revelation where I realized, Dammit, I need a backup plan. That said, I’m sounding the call (Is that the correct expression?) for aspiring biz types who want to live the dream with me in some dumpy apartment in L.A. We’ll all have crappy day jobs and probably dig the couches for spare change to buy KFC specials but who cares, it’ll pay off because we’ll make a blood pact prior to signing the lease that whoever “makes it” first will employ us in his or her feature film, t.v. show, production company, or music video (?). It’ll be sooo cute.

Like Matt and Ben. Or the Hollywood Frat Pack.

Or Judd Apatow, Seth Rogen, and Co.

We’ll show up to Sundance together and pose on the cover of Entertainment Weekly in some terrible photoshoot where the theme is “dysfunctional and incestuous but quirky loving family” because, you know, the rumor mill will be flying by then that when we were “struggling writers/actors” living in such close quarters, we got so close that we had naked cookouts. But that’ll be one big joke. Or is it? (In creepy Brittany Murphy voice) We’ll never tell. Gotta keep ’em guessing as they say.

So, any takers???

One Comment leave one →
  1. sven permalink
    October 5, 2008 8:58 pm

    Genny,
    You just say the word, and we’ll sink into poverty together!

    I am already training by not buying any furniture and living in the periphery of the ghetto on a floormattress.

    We’ll work shitty waitstaff jobs, commit misdemeanors for the stories, and talk about how our honorary grad degrees with stack up when we get famous. Bulk food will be a way of life and empty alcohol bottles will be quickly processed into art. And, eventually we will wangle our way into fame via pining, luck, and blogging. It’s going to be so ingnominious that it will be absolutely glamorous.

Leave a Reply

