Skip to content

He’s Just Not That Into You

November 29, 2008

The most I’ve heard about this movie is its star-studded cast (Ben Affleck, Ginnifer Goodwin, Jennifer Aniston, Bradley Cooper, Scarlett Johansson, Kevin Connolly, Jennifer Connolly, the Mac guy…er, I mean, Justin Long). I also know this a line from that Sex and the City episode where Miranda is all hung up on this guy not calling her, wondering why he would say such a thing but not act on it days or weeks later.

He’s just not that into you,” says Berger bluntly. Yes, Berger, the man who infamously dumped Carrie via Post-It note. Awesome. Let’s take advice from a man who dumps a girl with a Post-It note. Wait, wasn’t he a writer? He could’ve at least written some tear-stained 10-page letter. Or maybe some agitated looking chicken scratch writing letter where he can’t even spell Carrie’s name correctly. He spells it “Cary” or “Karrie” or “Kerry.” SATC writers, do you know what that simple mistake would connote? *Shakes head* Man, that guy was certified asshole. Wow. Am I really getting this heated about a SATC character? Gross.

Anyway, I have my reservations about this upcoming movie. Partly because of this SATC reference, mostly because of this star-studded cast. If I was the director I’d feel like I was jinxing my own movie. Something about all those stars in that movie, half of which are paparazzi darlings. Seriously, how am I supposed to concentrate on Ben Affleck and Jennifer Aniston when all I think about is, Ben looked so cute carrying Violet from school the other day. Or, is Jennifer Aniston really taken with John Mayer? I wonder if he serenades her like he does the girl in his β€œBody Is A Wonderland” music video. Also, does Jen bring up kids on the third date?

Nonetheless, I saw the trailer for He’s Just Not That Into You and, OK, OK, OK, I kinda do want to see it. It doesn’t look as bad as I had imagined it to be in my head.

P.S. To anybody reading this, have you read the book? After reading that Godawful The Rules (for a freshman COLLEGE WRITING class at that!), I went through a phase of wanting to read “handbooks for women looking for Mr. Right.” Something about trying to understand how going Dutch emasculates a man or why a woman has to make herself look presentable at all times (i.e. wear makeup, up-to-date clothing) or else she will never snag her ring and end up an old maid, down on her luck, and blaming herself for her failure to get married and have babies protected by white picket fences.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 1, 2008 4:23 am

    YES I READ IT and I don’t even remember why, but I thought it was the worst advice I’d ever heard. Rachel’s read it, too. Maybe she remembers why it’s so awful. I think I hated it because it demonizes all men, which doesn’t help any of us, now does it?!

Leave a Reply

